Prizes & Awards

This category contains 48 posts

University of Chicago Awards Honorary Doctorate to García-Arenal, June 2022

From the University of Chicago:

Mercedes García-Arenal, one of Europe’s most eminent historians and a leading scholar of religion in post-Franco democratic Spain, will receive the Honorary Degree of Doctor of Humane Letters. 

She has studied the Muslim inhabitants of Europe in the late medieval and early modern period; the Spanish Inquisition; and Iberian-North African history, opening new areas of inquiry in historical analysis and the study of religious minorities. She is currently a research professor at the Spanish National Research Council’s Institute of Languages and Cultures of the Mediterranean and the Near East. 

A major area of focus in García-Arenal’s scholarship has been the study of the Moriscos—people whom the Spanish Crown forced to convert from Islam to Christianity—and their descendants. Her work on the history of Iberia and North Africa also has been transformational, examining how the flows of people and ideas changed both Islam and Christianity in the West.

With nearly 40 authored or co-authored books and hundreds of articles, she also serves as the sole historian and humanist on the scientific committee of the European Research Council. She is a recipient of Spain’s highest honor for academic research, the Premio Nacional de Investigación Ramón Menéndez Pidal.

ASPHS Best First Book Prize 2022: Penry, “The People Are King”

Congratulations to S. Elizabeth Penry, who won the ASPHS First Book Prize for 2022 for The People Are King: The Making of Indigenous Andean Politics (Oxford, 2019)!

Congratulations also to Claire Gilbert, who earned honorable mention for In Good Faith: Arabic Translation and Translators in Early Modern Spain (Penn, 2020)!

Adrian Masters: Honorable Mention for the William Nelson Prize, 2022

Congratulaitons to Adrian M. Masters, whose “Influential Women, New World Riches, and Masculine Anxieties in the Development of the Spanish Council of the Indies, 1524-98,” Renaisance Quarterly 74/1 (2021) earned honorable mention for William Nelson Prize!!

Pilar Sáenz Annual Student Essay Prize, Due Feb 15, 2022

Ibero-American Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies (IASECS) 


The Pilar Sáenz Annual Student Essay Prize is awarded to the best essay dealing with eighteenth-century Spain, Portugal or Ibero-America. The prize is open to graduate students enrolled in a North American university. Advanced undergraduate work will be considered, provided it is accompanied by the recommendation of their professor.

  • Submissions may treat any aspect of Iberian (Spanish, Portuguese, Catalan, etc.) or Latin American culture during the “long” eighteenth century, from approximately 1680 to 1830.
  • Submissions may be based in any academic discipline (literature, history, art history, anthropology, etc.).

All entries must be received by February 15, 2022.

The IASECS Essay Prize Committee will announce the award at the ASECS annual meeting. The winner will receive:

(1) $500.00

(2) a two-year membership in the IASECS

The revised version of the essay will be considered for publication in Dieciocho

Instructions for submission:

• Submissions must be 5,000- 6,000 words, double-spaced.
• Submissions must be submitted as a pdf or Word document (Word preferred)
• Submissions must be submitted by February 15, 2022 via email to (use subject line “IASECS submission”).

Congrats: García Pérez & Fernández-González, Honorable Mentions from SIGA

The Society for Iberian Global Art has awarded honorable mention to Noelia García Pérez, The Making of Juana of Austria (Louisiana State) and Laura Fernández-González, Philip II of Spain and the Architecture of Empire (Penn State) – congratulations to both of them!

O’Banion, “Deza & Its Moriscos:” Honorable Mention for the Bainton Prize

Congratulations to Patrick J. O’Banion! His Deza and Its Moriscos: Religion and Community in Early Modern Spain (Nebraska, 2020) received honorable mention for the SCSC’s Bainton Prize.

“El Mercado Curial” Wins the Premio Nacional de Historia

Congratulations to Antonio José Díaz Rodríguez, who has won the Premio Nacional de Historia for El mercado curial. Bulas y negocios enter Roma y el mundo ibérico en la Edad Moderna (Cátedra Simón Ruiz, 2020).

Bigelow wins the James A. Rawley Prize for “Mining Language”

Congratulations to Allison Margaret Bigelow! She has been awarded the James A. Rawley Prize for Mining Languge: Racial Thinking, Indigenous Knolwedge, and Colonial Metallurgy in the Early Modern Iberian World (UNC-Omohundro, 2020).

This is the first time the book itself has come to myattention, so congrats on getting the book out, too!

Karoline P. Cook Wins the Natalie Zemon Davis Prize!

Renaissance and Reformation awarded the 2020 Natalie Zemon Davis Prize for the best article to appear in its journal to Karoline P. Cook, “Claiming Nobility in the Monarquía Hispánica: The Search for Status by Inca, Aztec, and Nasrid Descendants at the Habsburg Court,” Renaissance and Reformation 43.4 (Fall 2020).

Congrats to Laurinda Abreu for the 2021 Oliveira Marques Prize!

Congratulations to Laurinda Abreu for winning the ASPHS’s 2021 A.H. Oliveira Marques Prize for the best article on Portuguese history published in the past two years: “Health Care and the Spread of Medical Knowledge in the Portuguese Empire, Particularly the Estado da India (Sixteenth to Eighteenth Centuries,” Medical History 64/4 (2020).