Prizes & Awards

ASPHS Prize Submissions Due

ASPHS has two prize submissions due on Nov 21: the Best First Book Prize in Iberian History and the A.H. de Oliveira Marques Prize:

The Best First Book Prize in Iberian History

The committee for the Association for Spanish and Portuguese Historical Studies’s Best First Book Prize in Iberian History invites submissions for this year’s competition. First books on Iberian history published between 1 January 2016 and 31 December 2018 and in any of the three languages of the society (English, Portuguese, and Spanish) are eligible for the prize, which carries an honorarium of $250. Each submission must be its author’s first published book on Iberian history to be considered for the prize, and authors must be active members of the ASPHS to be eligible for consideration. This year’s award will be announced at the 2019 annual meeting of the ASPHS in Barcelona (July 10-13, 2019). Deadline for submissions is November 21, 2018. Early submissions are encouraged. Those who wish to enter their first book in the competition must send a copy to each member of the prize committee at the addresses below:


Dr. David A. Messenger (Chair)
Department of History
University of South Alabama                           |
5991 USA Dr. N.
Mobile, AL 36688-0002


Dr. A. Katie Stirling-Harris
Department of History
University of California, Davis
1 Shields Ave.
Davis, CA 95616-8611


Dr. Jesus Cruz
Department of History
University of Delaware
236 John Munroe Hall
Newark, DE 19716


A.H. de Oliveira Marques Prize, 2018


The Association for Spanish and Portuguese Historical Studies solicits submissions for the annual A. H. de Oliveira Marques Prize. The A. H. de Oliveira Marques Prize was created by means of a generous endowment from Dr. Harold B. Johnson, of the University of Virginia, in memory of the distinguished Portuguese historian, A. H. de Oliveira Marques (1933-2007). The prize, which carries an honorarium of $250, will be awarded each year for the best peer-reviewed article or book chapter on Portuguese history published during the previous year. This year’s award will be announced at the 2019 annual meeting of the Association for Spanish and Portuguese History in Barcelona (July 10-13, 2019). Submitted articles or book chapters may be written in Portuguese, English, Castilian, Catalan, Italian, or French, but only articles on Portuguese history published within the 2018 calendar year will be considered. Authors must be active members of the ASPHS to be eligible. Authors should submit one copy of the article and a short (2-page) CV in PDF form to the prize committee via email by February 1, 2019.  Please direct queries to the chair of the prize committee.


Prize Committee:


Ricardo Roque (Instituto de Ciências Sociais, Universidade de Lisboa)



Isabel do Guimarães Sá (Universidade do Minho)



Kirsten Schultz (Seton Hall University), Chair



About emspanishhistorynotes

Scott Taylor is an associate professor in the history department at the University of Kentucky.


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: