Prizes & Awards

Bleichmar, Safran Win 2014 AHA Awards

The Herbert Baxter Adams Prize (European history to 1815) goes to Daniela Bleichmar, Visible Empire: Botanical Expeditions and Visual Culture in the Hispanic Enlightenment (Chicago, 2012). (This book already won the Leo Gershoy Award last year!)

The Premio del Rey (Spanish history 500-1516) goes to Janina M. Safran, Defining Boundaries in al-Andalus: Muslims, Christians, and Jews in Islamic Iberia (Cornell, 2013). (okay not early modern but still!)

Congratulations to Bleichmar and Safran!!!


About emspanishhistorynotes

Scott Taylor is an associate professor in the history department at the University of Kentucky.


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: