Prizes & Awards

Bishko & Marques Prizes: Deadlines Soon

Note: the email I received garbled the addresses of the members of the prize committees, below; you can probably piece it together on your own.


The ASPHS solicits submissions for the annual Bishko Memorial Prize for the best article published in 2012 in the field of medieval Iberian history by a North American scholar. Initiated in 2003, the Bishko Prize honors Professor Charles Julian Bishko, the distinguished historian of medieval Iberia who taught for 39 years at the University of Virginia. Articles may be written in Castilian, English, Catalan, Galician, Portuguese or French. Articles in other languages will be considered if the original is accompanied by a full-text translation into Castilian, English, or Portuguese. Only articles by North American scholars that appeared within the calendar years 2011/2012 will be eligible.  The deadline for submissions is January 15, 2013, and should include the following: (1) a copy of the publication; (2) a copy of the volume’s contents page showing the volume title, number, and date; and (3) the author’s CV, including current address. Please send complete materials to each member of the prize committee below:

Miriam Shadis (Chair)

Mike Ryan Michelle Armstrong-Partida

Department of History

Department of History

Department of History

Ohio University

MSC06 3760  Liberal Arts Building 320

Athens, OH 45701-2979

University of New Mexico

University of Texas – El Paso

Albuquerque, NM 87131-1181

El Paso, TX 79968-00532


The A. H. de Oliveira Marques Prize (created by means of a generous endowment from Dr. Harold B. Johnson, University of Virginia, in memory of the distinguished Portuguese Historian, A. H. de Oliveira Marques [1933-2007]) is awarded for the best article on Portuguese history published during the previous year.  Submitted articles may be written in Portuguese, English, Castilian or French, but only articles on Portuguese history published within the 2012 calendar year will be considered. Authors must be active members of the ASPHS to be eligible. Submissions should include the following: (1) a copy of the article with date of publication; and (2) the author’s resume, including current address. Send submissions to EACH member of the prize committee below.  All submissions must be received by each member by 31 January 2013.

Bill Donovan (committee chair)

Fernanda Olival

History Department

Departmento de História

Loyola College

Universidade de Évora

4501 North Charles Street

7002-554 Évora

Baltimore, MD 21210-2699


About emspanishhistorynotes

Scott Taylor is an associate professor in the history department at the University of Kentucky.


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: