Career news

Prize Winners

Congratulations to Stuart B. Schwartz and Maria-Elena Martinez! The American Historical Association has announced its prize-winners for the upcoming conference in January, and Ibero-American history has done quite well indeed.

Stuart B. Schwartz, All Can Be Saved: Religious  Tolerance and Salvation in the Iberian Atlantic World (Yale, 2008) won the Leo Gershoy Award, the John E. Fagg Prize, and the George L. Mosse Prize. Maria-Elena Martinez, Genealogical Fictions: Limpieza de Sangre, Religion, and Gender in Colonial Mexico (Stanford, 2008), won the James A. Rawley Prize in Atlantic History. In other words, Martinez is the only one preventing Schwartz from a clean sweep of the awards for which All Can Be Saved was eligible. What a testimony to the strength of our field.

It should be mentioned that prior to winning these AHA awards, All Can Be Saved was named the “Book of the Year” by “EM Spanish History Notes.” Perhaps we should start viewing this website as a prognosticator, just as we see the Critics’ Choice Awards as pointing to future winners of the Oscars…


About emspanishhistorynotes

Scott Taylor is an associate professor in the history department at the University of Kentucky.


One thought on “Prize Winners

  1. Wow! That’s an impressive bunch. I remember reading some of Martinez’s early work, a Harvard paper, and thinking — this is great. Congratulations to her and Schwartz.

    Posted by Roger Martinez | November 20, 2009, 12:36 am

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: